Walking in a Winter Wonderland


So here’s what I did today.  After being berated by my aunt for spending all my time at home with my Gramma, I decided that mayyybe I should do something other than bake cookies, make perogies, or eat.  And so I put on my winter boots and went for a walk.

I’m really lucky to have grown up in Kenora.  It’s a beautiful place, and it’s very rare to be further than 15 minutes by foot from some body of water.  At my Dad’s house, we’re just down the street from a nice path that they recently paved that goes down to Rabbit Lake.  It’s not a hard walk; I walked past a couple of older ladies that were out for an afternoon cross-country ski.

What can I say? I love me some nature.

So at the start of the path it’s paved, and a very easy walk; it would probably be good for running if I ever become a runner (ha!).  After a while that gets boring, though, so I branched off the main trail and into the wilderness.  Don’t worry, I didn’t encounter anything scary.  What I did see?

For the uninitiated, those are deer tracks.  They’re everywhere.  That’s about as close as you get to “wilderness” at my Dad’s house.

I like this one because you might almost think it was nice out when I went for my walk.  It wasn’t, it was overcast and lightly snowing.

My toes were toasty alllll day in these babies.  Thank you boyfriend!

And on my way home, I saw this lovely bird stuck to the fence of my elementary school.  Cute. (#18 is Mike Richards)

So here’s what I did today.  After being berated by my aunt for spending all my time at home with my Gramma, I decided that mayyybe I should do something other than bake cookies, make perogies, or eat.  And so I put on my winter boots and went for a walk.
Leave a Reply

