Breaking news: People don’t suck!

You know, my life has been super duper hectic lately.  In the last two weeks, I’ve had three midterms, three presentations, and I’ve been trying desperately to find a summer job.  While I’m not having any luck with that (yet! I have a good feeling about this week!), I have had some fantastic luck in other areas (good and bad):

Last Sunday, my computer stopped working.  Of course, it does this right in the middle of the midterm/presentation hell that is the last few weeks of classes.  I brought it in to get fixed, and I finally got a phone call yesterday.  Apparently, the poor beast had contracted a virus that basically wipes out your hard drive and makes it impossible for your computer to boot Windows… kudos to whoever programmed that thing, because it obviously does its job!  The dude tried to fix it, but to no avail…. so I lost everything that was on my computer, including everything that I had transferred from my last computer.  It feels like I just lost my arm or something; no pictures, no movies, no music…

Argh, anyway.  I went to pick the beast up last night, but as I was walking out the door, realized that I didn’t have my wallet.  Normally, this isn’t such a big deal (I lose my wallet all the time, and it’s usually just taking a nap in my bed underneath the pillows), but it was honestly not in my possession.  So I ran back to school, did a frantic search of the business building and… nothing.  Thankfully, I didn’t end up having to pay any extra for the computer, so I didn’t exactly need it, but still.  My life is in that thing, I have to fly home in 2 weeks, and I have no way of getting back most of the stuff in there without going home (tough to do without ID!).

Here’s the absolutely best part of this week: someone turned it in.  With all my cards, ids, etc still in it, even the cash.  Thank you, kindhearted stranger.  I wouldn’t have blamed you for taking the $15 (I actually would have been happy to give it to you as payment for the safe return of everything else), but you didn’t.  You have made me feel like maybe school isn’t so terrible, and that I can probably get along ok with no pictures (they’re all still on my phone anyway! I realized this last night when I was ready to throw in the towel).  People aren’t bad; they’re actually quite nice.  So thank you, thank you, thank you!

 

In other news, I have a wicked cold and sneeze constantly.  It’s super hot and makes me want to tear my nose off.  Also, up until last week, when I mysteriously injured my foot (seriously, haven’t figured out what I did but it hurt like hell), I was doing pretty good on the running.  I need to step it up in a very serious way, but I can tell my pace and stamina are improving.  Only 65 days until race day!

I found a good, CANADIAN site (www.besthealthmag.ca) today that was fairly encouraging.  Except that when it talks about training for a 10k, it says to start about 4 month in advance.  Oops.  If I fail, oh well… there’s always later in the year to try again! Right?!

One thought on “Breaking news: People don’t suck!

Leave a Reply

