New Year, New Resolutions

I know that more often than not, making up resolutions is totally useless.  But it can’t hurt to try, right?

The past four months have kicked the crap out of me.  I was taking six courses (more than a full course load), working close to full time, and trying to maintain some semblance of sanity has led down a very slippery slope of carbs, coffee and more fried food than I care to recall right now.  It’s honestly been one of the least healthy times in my life in terms of activity level and healthy eating habits.  I was so, so burnt out.

Thankfully, that’s all behind me now.  I’ve finished all but one class, which should be over with soon (fingers crossed, it’s the project report that just won’t quit), and I’m unemployed for the time being, so I have nothing but time. I stayed in last night to ring in the new year in peace and quiet, and let me say, waking up without a hangover has been ah.may.zing. I feel ready to take on 2012.  In the spirit of a fresh calendar, I wanted to share my goals for the year ahead.

(Random kitty picture for good measure)

 

Overall, what I’m looking for is a healthy and balanced life.  I want to feel peaceful this year! My life has been way crazy for a very long time and I can’t wait to feel normal and not rushed for a bit.

1. Eat fruits and veggies at every meal.  This is not as hard as I have been making it out to be!  Part of getting out of the habit of eating crap is to retrain your body to crave good things again, and I think this is the way to do it.  I’m going to try to plan out at least dinners for the week so that I can make sure to include enough of the good stuff every day.  Obviously, some days will be easier than others, but I think that overall this is a very attainable goal, and it will make a huge difference.

2. Get moving! This is what I’ve really noticed is missing in my life.  Again, this is not difficult.  My goal is to get outside every day for at least a walk around the ‘hood, and ideally get in a few other key workouts a week.  I know that working out six days a week is not a realistic goal for me.  I’m laaaazy. I like my sleep and I like my TV time.  And that’s ok!  But I do need to make exercise a bigger part of my lifestyle.  I also think that I may try swimming with the Boyfriend (one of the few types of physical activity he’s allowed with his back the way it is), and work in some more interval training and weights.  Maybe 2012 will finally be the year I learn to love running?  (Clearly it was not in the cards for 2011)

3. Make friends and family more of a priority.  I love the people I have in my life.  Sadly, finishing up my degree made me so busy that I haven’t had the time to see everyone, or even talk to them as much as I would have liked.  For this year, I’m really striving for a good balance of friends, family and Boyfriend time.  I really, truly think this will be the best part of my year.

4. Get my career started.  Assuming I’ve passed everything – which is pretty much guaranteed – I am officially in possession of a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Calgary.  While this is a good first step, I want to get into a position that I can grow and learn from, ideally with a company that I can spend the next few years with.  This is probably the most pressing resolution, as without it, I’m still unemployed… No es bueno, amigos. I’m working on this one actively, and have been for a few weeks now, so I’m very hopeful that this will get checked off very soon.

So there you have it!  As you can tell, I’m feeling good about this year.  I’ve completed a lot of life goals lately, and I’m looking to keep that momentum going and really hit some high notes this year.

Please tell me what you’ve got planned!

 

One thought on “New Year, New Resolutions

  1. That is quite a list you put together there; a positive goal to set for the next year and on. As long as you got a list together then you’re already on the right track. Have a great new year’s day and I look forward to reading more:))

    jonwatersauthor.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

