Lemon Bars – a long time coming!

So remember a million years ago I briefly mentioned that I might do a post on lemon bars I made?

Shit = together.

(Gross)

Ta-da!

Sorry it’s so dark, but we get roughly 3 hours of sun in the winter in Canada, and I was too busy to bake during them.  One day, when I get a real camera, I’ll get a better one for you.  For now, relax and make lemon bars.

I was actually impressed with how easy these were to make.  I used this recipe, pretty much without substitutions, so I’ll just let you go there to get the measurements and such.  But here’s the play-by-play:

Mix together the butter, 2 cups of the flour, and a half a cup of sugar until you get something that looks crumb-y.  It’s really scientific, obviously.Then take that mess and smoosh it into a 9×13 pan.  Like so:

It’s like a less messy version of fingerpainting. So take that pan, put it in the oven that you’ve preheated to 350 (because you read the recipe…), and bake for about 15-20 minutes, depending on your oven, elevation, humidity level, ambient air temperature, patience, and whether pigs have wings.  Just kidding, bake until it’s golden brown.  Pull it out and let it cool…

Winter in Canada - nature's best freezer

Yes, that’s my back stoop.  I kept my eyes peeled for sneaky magpies and squirrels. I’m pretty sure you could just throw the pudding bit onto the crust immediately out of the oven, but I find that letting it cool to a reasonable temperature reduces your (my) chances of injury.

While that’s all happening, combine the rest of the sugar and flour, then whisk in the eggs and lemon juice.  I added about a half a cup of juice, as well as some zest, just for fun.  Try not to be a knob like me and zest the lemon before you cut it open.   When that’s all together and happy, pour it over the crust

and pop it back in the oven for about another 20 minutes.  It’s ok if it seems a bit… weird… because it comes together as it cools down.  If you’re feeling brave, you could put it back out on the stoop and torment the neighbourhood wildlife. Although, I don’t recommend that if you live in Kenora, because a wild deer is likely to walk up the stairs and steal it off the deck.  Just sayin’.

So there you go!  Only a million years in the making.  Do it now before it’s too hot to turn on your oven!  (I think that’s only funny in Alberta where it’s just as likely to snow in August as it is in January)

One thought on “Lemon Bars – a long time coming!

Leave a Reply

