Aside

Spooktacular

Occasionally I do things while I’m not blogging that I cannot wait to tell everyone about. I had one of those moments on Saturday.

I ran a 5k!

I didn’t die!

I finished in less than 37 minutes!!!

On Saturday I ran the Halloween Howl, benefiting the Alberta Diabetes Foundation. It was a pretty relaxed race (read: no time chips), so I wasn’t really pushing myself to perform. I really just wanted to come in under 45 minutes… Safe to say, I beat my goal. I’m actually really surprised and pretty impressed with myself. I’ve had a cold for the past week and a bit, and I haven’t been training at all. This race was really inspiring for me – if I can finish in what I consider to be a decent time without putting in much effort, imagine how much better I could do if I actually tried?!

I’ve been wanting to go for a run ever since I finished the race. Unfortunately, Mother Nature hasn’t been working with me, because it’s snowed every day since then. There’s a heavy snowfall warning right now for Calgary. and we’re supposed to get up to 20cm by tomorrow night. So… yeah. Treadmill??

Other than finally finding a moment of not hating running, it’s been pretty much business as usual ’round these parts. I made kale chips tonight and they would probably be better if I hadn’t burnt them (but maybe not. It’s kale – a vegetable best suited to be eaten with copious amounts of bacon), and I roasted a butternut squash to eat with my lunches this week. Pretty much Martha F. Stewart over here.

So what the heck have y’all been up to? Any race plans coming up?

Leave a Reply

