The Power of Intention

So this is a little lot more hippy than I usually like to veer in the public arena, but I feel strongly about this. I’m not an overly religious person these days, but I do believe that you/me/anyone in the whole world has the power of setting an intention for their life. Huh, what, intentions?

in·ten·tion
inˈten(t)SH(ə)n/
noun
noun: intention; plural noun: intentions
  1. 1.
    a thing intended; an aim or plan.
    “she was full of good intentions”
    • the action or fact of intending.
      “intention is just one of the factors that will be considered”
      synonyms: intent, intentionality, deliberateness, design, calculation, meaning;More

    • a person’s designs, especially a man’s, in respect to marriage.
      plural noun: someone’s intentions; plural noun: one’s intentions
      “if his intentions aren’t honorable, I never want to see him again”
  2. 2.
    MEDICINE
    the healing process of a wound.
Origin
late Middle English: from Old French entencion, from Latin intentio(n-) ‘stretching, purpose,’ from intendere (see intend).
An aim or plan. A direction for your life. What about this could you not want?? Wandering aimlessly through your life will get you pretty much nowhere. You can’t get somewhere if you haven’t imagined where that will be. I’m not saying that you shouldn’t leave room for some unexpected fun, to truly embrace the moment that you’re being given; obviously, being spontaneous on occasion adds some spice to your life. But without some idea of what you want to accomplish, you’re just sending a whole lot of time and energy out the window while everyone around you applies theirs to living out their dreams.
I’m still unemployed (and yes, it still stinks), but I decided a few days ago that my new intention/goal was to find a job that would allow me to learn and grow. I want to work for a company that invests in their employees through more than just their salaries. A place where I can receive mentorship in my career path, where someone will see my potential and allow me to realize it. Obviously, these places are not altogether common. Many employers are most concerned with getting profit for their stakeholders – I get that. Your investors ultimately hold the power. However, the smartest, most successful companies out there today have an understanding that treating their employees right will not detract from their ability to provide returns for investors. Take, for example, companies like Google and Costco. Both are known to provide exceptional work environments for their employees. They are also both at or near the top of their respective categories.
Not every day goes well. Some days I whine about how I’m still not finding what I’m looking for (many apologies to my boyfriend, my parents, and my friends, all of whom are forced to listen to said whining). It can feel like an endless, uphill battle in which everyone is pushing against you. I had a bit of a breakthrough about this yesterday, though. All it took was a bit of reframing – I get to start again. Sure, my last job really sucked sometimes. But I get to choose how the next one will go. I can learn from the mistakes I made last time. If I’m not getting what I want out of my next position, I will not hesitate to try to change my situation before it gets to a critical point.
Done being a hippy for today. Tell me your intentions!
Leave a Reply

